Erika Logie's Travel Blog

14 days and counting

leave a comment »

After giving up on trying to get to bed early tonight, I sit in front of the computer at my mother’s house in Colorado Springs thinking about the journey that I have ahead of me. I just spent an hour or so looking at my Central America guidebook, and thinking about all of the incredible things I am going to see over the next year or so.

I’ve pretty much settled on going to Antigua first, after flying into Guatemala City on the 12th of January. As it is the city where my parents met and fell in love almost exactly 30 years ago, I feel like it is the most appropriate place to begin my journey.

My thoughts drift from the excitement I feel about the actual trip to the reality of all that I need to get done before I leave. The biggest ongoing internal debate I’ve had so far is over what to bring. One skirt? Two skirts? Fleece? No fleece. I’m sure that no matter what, I will not pack as light as I should, and end up having to ditch unnecessary stuff along the way.

I’ve also made a list of books by Latin American authors that I am planning on reading over the next couple of weeks of downtime to psyche me up for my trip. Among them: The Way to Paradise, The Feast of the Goat, and The War of the End of the World by Mario Vargas Llosa, World’s End by Pablo Neruda, and Daughter of Fortune by Isabel Allende.  I also ordered A World for Julius by Alfredo Bryce Echenique, Chronicle of San Gabriel by Julio Ramon Ribeyro, and Conversation in the Cathedral by Mario Vargas Llosa from Amazon to bring with me. If anyone has any other author/book recommendations pass them on!

I’ve never managed to maintain a blog for any significant period of time, so if I fall off the updates and you want to hear what I am up to while I’m gone, please don’t hesitate to harass me!

♥ Erika

// //

Written by erikalogie

December 29, 2009 at 5:49 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

